An Interview with K.D. Richardson

Book Title: Journey Across Time

Name: K.D. Richardsonjourney-across-time

What is an interesting fact about you many people may not know?

I logged 385 skydives over 18 years of jumping.

What was the last book you read? What drew you to it? What was your opinion about it?

Other than proof-reading my own works would have to be The Last Days of Dead Celebrities. Fantastic work. The book taught me more about celebs than meets the eye. They’re people first, public figures last.

What was the first book you ever read?

Dick & Jane???

How do you choose what books to read? Do you read reviews or go by a friend’s word?

I usually read books that aid in my researching a particular subject that I might be writing about at the time.

Where do you do most of your book acquiring? Online? In stores? The Library?

Online.

What was the last book you purchased?

Beginnings, Middles, and Ends.

Please list your top three favorite books.

The Last Days of Dead Celebrities, Haunted Hollywood and Gettysburg: A Journey in Time

Do you have any favorite movies?

“Forest Gump”, “A Beautiful Mind”, “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest”

How long did you work on your current book?

One year.

How did the idea for your book originate? Remember, the most incidental stories often make interesting publicity.

I worked with a man, Todd Price, who is a Civil War artist. His original works of the battle of Gettysburg used to hang at our work place. In the early 90s, I studied the paintings and became fascinated about the battle. Having watched Ken Burns’ The Civil War series on PBS made me want to check out Gettysburg all the more. I did, fourteen times. I realized that I could write a fiction about the battle, so one day I sat down and began an outline. One year later, I had an editable manuscript.

What was the most difficult part of writing this book?

Writing a book that was sellable. That required cutting out some pertinent yet boring material.

What was the easiest part of writing this book?

The story line itself-the beginning, middle, and the end. Filling in the details was where the real work was.

What did you aspire to be when you were a child?

I had no idea. It’s a good thing I stumbled across writing. I still do other things to put a roof over my head, but writing is where my heart lies.

If you could meet one author, alive or deceased, who would it be? What questions would you ask them?

The one who dictated the Bible. I hope to eventually. Beats the alternative.

All writers must deal with rejection. Do you have any tips for writers facing on onslaught of rejection?

Don’t take it personally. Of course your story is the best, but certain publishers may not be looking for stories in your genre right now.

What is your favorite food?

I’m not allowed to eat food any more. It only puts weight on me.

What is your favorite thing to do when you are not writing? Is there anything else?

Photography then.

Can you tell me a little about what you are currently working on?

I just finished a holiday screenplay and am marketing it, but I have a novel that’s about 3/5 complete. The first three chapters are complete as are the last two. The middle is a bear though.

What made you decide to write professionally?

I liked writing, but thought that if it’s good enough for me, then it should be good enough for the public. If someone makes the effort to go out and purchase your novel, that’s the ultimate in compliments.

How were you “discovered”?

By sending out hundreds of queries over the life of my three books’ submissions.

Buy it on Amazon!

Buy it on B&N!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

