An Interview with Eve Lestrange

Book Title:  Widdershins

Name:  Eve Lestrange

What was the last book you read? What drew you to it? What was your opinion about it?

Angels & Demons by Dan Brown. I was drawn to it because I had read The DaVinci Code and I liked the author.  I thought it was a clever story.

What was the first book you ever read? 

The Cat in the Hat.

How do you choose what books to read? Do you read reviews or go by a friend’s word? 

I choose what books to read by the blurb on the back cover or by the description if I’m buying online.  I don’t bother with reviews.

Where do you do most of your book acquiring? Online? In stores? The Library?

Most of my books are acquired online.

What was the last book you purchased?

Bathory:  Memoir of a Countess

Please list your top three favorite books.

The Tomb and Other Tales by H.P. Lovecraft, The Exorcist by William Peter Blatty, 1984 by George Orwell

Do you have any favorite movies?

The Exorcist, Amadeus & The Godfather

How long did you work on your current book?

I worked on Widdershins for about 1 year.

How did the idea for your book originate?

I read a story about a woman named LaVoisin, who was a poisoner and necromancer to the nobles of Louis XIV’s court.  She concocted poisons, love potions and held black masses.  Her story led to the creation of Christina Lafage.

What was the most difficult part of writing this book?

The most difficult part was doing the research for this book.  I needed to research the time period and the spells, potions and talismans for accuracy.

What was the easiest part of writing this book?

The easiest part was telling the story itself.

What did you aspire to be when you were a child?

I had a strong desire to be a musician.

If you could meet one author, alive or deceased, who would it be? What questions would you ask them?

I would like to meet H.P. Lovecraft but I think I would be too awestruck to ask him anything.

All writers must deal with rejection. Do you have any tips for writers facing on onslaught of rejection?

All authors face rejection;  if you really believe in what you have written don’t give up.

What is your favorite food?

Anything Italian or Thai.

What is your favorite thing to do when you are not writing?

My favorite things are reading & listening to music.

Can you tell me a little about what you are currently working on?

I’m currently working on a sequel to Widdershins.

What made you decide to write professionally?

I thought the story was good enough to get published.  It was a story that I enjoyed & I’m very critical!

How were you discovered?

My agent, Krista Goering sent the manuscript to Dailey Swan Publishing & they liked it.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

